Everywhere You Want To Be

Everywhere You Want To Be

 

EVERYWHERE YOU WANT TO BE cover final

 

From author Christina June comes Everywhere You Want to Be, a modern retelling of the Red Riding Hood story.

Matilda Castillo has always done what she was told, and as a result she watched her dreams of becoming a contemporary dancer slip away. So when Tilly gets a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to spend the summer with a New York dance troupe, nothing can stop her from saying yes—not her mother, not her fears of the big city, and not the commitment she made to Georgetown. Tilly’s mother allows her to go on two conditions: one, Tilly will regularly visit her abuela in New Jersey, and two, after the summer, she’ll give up dancing and go off to college.

Armed with her red vintage sunglasses and her pros and cons lists, Tilly strikes out, determined to turn a summer job into a career. Along the way she meets new friends … and new enemies. Tilly isn’t the only one desperate to dance, and fellow troupe member Sabrina Wolfrik intends to succeed at any cost. But despite dodging sabotage and blackmail attempts from Sabrina, Tilly can’t help but fall in love with the city, especially since Paolo, a handsome musician from her past, is also calling New York home for the summer.

As the weeks wind down and the competition with Sabrina heats up, Tilly’s future is on the line. She must decide whether to follow her mother’s path to Georgetown or leap into the unknown to pursue her own dreams.

 

Praise:

“June has succeeded in creating a diverse set of characters with their own distinct goals in life.  Themes of pursuing dreams, forging one’s own path, overcoming hardship, and surviving overzealous competition are interwoven with great balance and will resonate with teens.”
— School Library Journal
“June presents vivid details of the city, and Tilly’s determination to succeed over rivalry and past heartaches is inspiring.  Fueled with romance, competition, and passion, this is a delightful read.”
–Booklist
“This (very) loose retelling of Red Riding Hood is a heartwarming follow-up to June’s debut novel, featuring some familiar faces as well as a new batch of characters. The diverse mix of cultures, ethnicities and backgrounds lends dimension and authenticity to Tilly’s pursuit of her passion. June immerses readers in the world of dance and leaves even those with two left feet wanting to sign up for classes. This exploration of relationships — the struggles, dynamics and triumphs experienced by a small troupe — expands beyond the dancers to delve into the subtle (and not-so-subtle) intricacies of friendship, romance and family. At the same time, the combination of contemporary dance and New York City leaves room for a lot of fun! (And the hot drummer doesn’t hurt either.) Perfect for fans of Kasie West and Miranda Kenneally, this compelling novel will inspire you to chase your dreams.” (Top Pick)

— RT Reviews

“With her trademark compassion and hope shining through on every page, Christina June weaves Tilly’s sweet tale of second chances, new beginnings, and finding her own path. We all harbor big dreams and secret wishes, and Everywhere You Want to Be will dance into readers’ hearts, and tug those dreams and wishes out under the lights and onto center stage, where they belong.” — Katherine Locke, author of Second Position and The Girl with the Red Balloon

 

“EVERYWHERE YOU WANT TO BE is a charming story of second changes, facing life’s uncertainties, and finding your own way. June’s writing captures the heartbeat of NYC, the dance world, and the very essence of a girl on the cusp.” — Sara Biren, author of The Last Thing You Said
Full of heart and humor, EVERYWHERE YOU WANT TO BE is a nuanced look at what it means to chase a dream. Tilly’s delightful narration lets the reader escape into the irresistible energy of a New York City summer.” — Lauren Karcz, author of The Gallery of Unfinished Girls
Readers will be captivated by this real-life fairy tale, the world of competitive dance, and New York-style pizza.” — McCall Hoyle, author of The Thing With Feathers
“Everywhere You Want to Be is the perfect book for anyone who has ever been stuck at a crossroads at an important point in life. Loosely inspired by Red Riding Hood, it follows Tilly as she fights to choose between a dream that doesn’t belong to her and a dream that might not love her back. I absolutely adored it and can’t wait for others to read it!”  –Rachel Strolle, Anderson’s Bookshop

Add It on Goodreads

Order A Copy

Indies I love (feel free to recommend yours and I’ll add to the list):

One More Page Books

Hooray 4 Books

Scrawl Books

Fountain Bookstore

Anderson’s Bookshop

Trident Booksellers

Little Shop of Stories

Spellbound Children’s Bookshop

Park Road Books

Fiction Addiction

Quail Ridge Books

 

Other buying options:

IndieBound

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Amazon

ITunes

Kobo

Google